More success for Translink people

"Awards for our drivers, the new eco-driving scheme, yLink Card and Translink Youth Forum"
22nd February 2013


Dear Colleagues,

The Federation of Passenger Transport Northern Ireland (FPTNI) - the trade body which promotes and represents bus and coach transport – held its annual awards earlier this month.

Translink received four awards; Bus Driver of the Year was won by David Spratt from Metro Newtownabbey and the Runner Up was Raymond Williamson from Ulsterbus Newtownards. Our innovative eco-driving scheme, piloted in Bangor and currently being rolled out in the North West, won the Danny Monaghan Raising Standards Award, while Translink Youth Forum and yLink Youth Travel Card was the winner in the Serving the Community category.

Congratulations to David and Raymond on their awards, and to all of those across the organisation who contributed to the success of the eco-driving scheme, yLink and the Youth Forum.

We also lifted the Gold award for yLink in the ‘Putting Young People to the Forefront’ category at the recent Children’s Commissioner’s Participation Awards.  These awards are for government departments and public bodies who demonstrate they have involved children and young people in planning services and in the decisions that affect their lives.  This is an area we continue to focus on, given the importance of young people as customers.

Catherine Mason

Group Chief Executive